Valheim

How to Change or Delete Your Valheim Server World

Learn how to change or completely delete your Valheim server world via the DazcoHost panel, while keeping your player data and builds safe.

Last updated:

How to Change or Delete Your Valheim Server World

Because progress in Valheim is stored in your player information, this means that the server world only stores your builds and other such things. As a result, you may want to change the world; if the map isn't very good, or you just want a fresh world to farm resources on.

Thankfully, resetting your server world is incredibly easy. You can choose to either delete your existing world or simply create a new one, which is useful if you ever want to return to your old world.

How to Change Your Server World

If you just want to change your world, rather than deleting it entirely, this is very simple.

  1. Access your server's DazcoHost Control Panel and stop the server.
  2. Navigate to the Startup tab.
  3. Change the World option to what you want your new world to be called and click Save.

To return to your old world, simply change this option back to what it was previously.

How to Delete Your Server World

Maybe you want to remove your world entirely, either because you will never have a use for it again, or because you want a new world with the same name.

  1. Access your server's DazcoHost Control Panel and stop the server.
  2. Navigate to the Files tab.
  3. Locate and open the .config/unity3d/IronGate/Valheim/ folder, then the /worlds_local folder.
  4. You'll want to delete the files in there:
    • <worldname>.db and <worldname>.db.old if present.
    • <worldname>.fwl and <worldname>.fwl.old if present.

You've now deleted your world. If you require any further assistance, please contact our support team.

Need more help?

Search the help center or reach our team directly, we reply in about 10 minutes.

Back to Help Center